Staff and Faculty Contact

Global Asia Institute Staff

Joseph Tse-Hei Lee, PhD

Executive Director

Dr. Lee is Professor of History at Pace University. He earned his BA (Hons), MA and PhD from the University of ‎London. Since joining the Pace University faculty in 2001, he has developed and taught a ‎number of new courses including “Nonviolent Activism in Modern Asia,” “Wars in the ‎Asia-Pacific,” “Hong Kong and Bollywood Cinemas,” “Bible and Gun: Christianity in China,” and “Confucian Capitalism in China.” He has published widely on the history of Sino-Western cultural ‎interactions. He is author of The Bible and the Gun: Christianity in South China, 1860–1900 (New York, 2003; Beijing, 2010), and co-author of Context and Vision: Visualizing Chinese-Western Cultural Encounters in Chaoshan (Beijing, 2017). His edited/co-edited works include Marginalization in China (New York, 2009), China’s Rise to Power (New York, 2012), Hong Kong and Bollywood: Globalizations of Asian Cinemas (New York, 2016), Christianizing South China (New York, 2018), and The Church as Safe Haven: Christian Governance in China (Leiden, 2019).

 

Global Asia Institute Faculty

Ioana Atanassova
History and Global Asia
iatanassova@pace.edu

Ronald K. Frank, PhD
History and Global Asia
Rfrank2@pace.edu

Amy L. Freedman, PhD
Political Science
afreedman@pace.edu

Satish Kolluri, PhD
Communication Studies
skolluri@pace.edu

James D. Reich, PhD
Philosophy and Religious Studies
jreich@pace.edu

Marcella Szablewicz, PhD
Communication Studies
mszablewicz@pace.edu

Ying Wang, PhD
Modern Languages/Cultures
ywang@pace.edu